Cirencester Sixth Form College’s 25th Awards Ceremony

Cirencester Sixth Form College’s 25th Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday April 8th, when over 60 former students, accompanied by families and friends returned to the College to celebrate a year of outstanding and diverse achievement. In his welcome, Principal Jim Grant, reflected on the role the College has played in Cirencester during the last quarter century, paying tribute to our founding principal Nigel Robbins, who was in the audience. Jim thanked him for the values and culture that he instilled in the College, an ethos that has been essential to the College’s success, student care, inclusivity and growth. He also congratulated students on their achievements, acknowledging the support of their families and the fantastic work of the staff in encouraging students to achieve the best possible outcomes.

Oscar Horner and Desmond Dakura captivated the guests with their beautiful musical performances one being their own jazz improvisation and the Maple Leaf Rag.

This year former student, Annabel Allen-Stevens, was the guest speaker. Bella captivated the audience with her moving tribute to her time at the College which she felt had enabled her outstanding achievements on the national and international stage. Bella first joined the College through the NCS programme, becoming one of the country’s leading NCS ambassadors and helping to shape the future of NCS with David Cameron. She initially had a team of five young people advising Parliament on issues facing them, this had grown to a huge groundswell of 500,000. She was recently talking with PM Theresa May on Article 50. Bella’s passion is volunteering, including supporting families in Zambia affected by AIDS. Now, after taking 3 years out, Bella has commenced her degree in Studies Environment and Media Studies at University of Brighton in 2016, but it looks like a future in politics already beckons! She certainly gets the vote of her audience, many of whom have contacted her already to inquire about volunteering themselves.

New Chair of Governors, Peter Holmes, was also welcomed to the College, having been in post for only just one week. Peter very much looked forward to working with the college on its future role in education and the community.

Students, staff and families all agreed it had been a wonderful day celebrating the many student successes.

[dt_small_photos number=”87″ height=”250″ autoslide=”3000″ loop=”true” category=”awards-2016″]

To download any of the photos, follow the link below. Right click on any photo and hit download to save the image.

The full list of award winners:

Bobby White The Cirencester Grammar School Memorial Trust Prize for Academic Excellence

Ellen Webb The 1457 Award for Excellence

Matt Brown The 1457 Award for Excellence

Emma Hanley The Powell’s Educational Award for Progress

Natasha Roy The Award for Contribution to the Life of the College

Harriet Watts The Academic Support Endeavour Award

Anthony Merle The Rotary Club Award for Outstanding Service to the Community

Jess Prinsloo The Cirencester College Award for Personal Achievement

Ethan Moss Bingham Library Trust Award for the student who has contributed the most to the well being and good name of Cirencester

Seatbuddy (Young Enterprise Group) The Ellisons Award for Enrichment                                                                                                                  

Lavinia McGrath The Adult Learning Award

Rosie Latham The Pamela Cheeseman Award for Commitment to a Sustainable Environment

Ashley Wilce The Learning for Life Award

Kiki Kirby The Award for the Best Employer Contribution to the College – Career Ready

Hardware Group The Award for the Best Employer Contribution to the College – Apprenticeships

Jack Blythe The Sentinel Systems Limited Award for Excellence in the Workplace

Levi O’Callaghan The Cirencester College Apprentice of the Year

Jay Amlani The Cirencester Town Council Prize for Demonstration of Business Skills in the Work Place

Freya Mercier The Chartered Management Institute Alex Beardmore Award for Management Potential

Yamin Ali The Career Ready Award for Finance, Sponsored by St James’s Place Wealth Management

Honey Dean-Jung The Mike Cheeseman Award for Excellence in the field of Management Studies

Georgia Fouracres-Phillips The Mazars Prize for Potential in the Business Field

Will Clarke The Morris Owen Award for Aptitude in the Field of Finance

Anna Tylutka The Sewell Mullings Logie Prize for Potential for a Successful Legal Career

Izaac Theaker The Prize for Excellence in Economics

Stephen Moyse The Nigel Robbins Award for Performance

Luke Davies The Read Prize for Music

Kamahri May The Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Performance

Emily Attwood The John Cook Memorial Cup for Sporting Achievement

Will Thorne The BICC Trophy for the most improved player in the Football Academy

Andrew Jones & Andrew Ferris The Alexcars Award for Sport

Mitch Kendall Smith The Immediate Media Prize for Media and Communications

Bethany Wakefield The Wilts & Glos Standard Prize for Successful Application of Communication Skills

Alexandra Townsend The Prize for English

James Pinkney The GCSE English Prize

Simone Snashall The Prize for Photography

Lisa Rai The New Brewery Arts Prize for Creative Art

Megan Thacker Brooks The Integrated Architecture Award for Design

Edd Birchmore The Amanda Stokes Trophy for Commitment to and Feeling for the Visual World

Dominic Kavanagh The Cirencester Decorative and Fine Arts Society Award

Kerenza Bloomfield The Corinium Decorative and Fine Arts Society Award

Callum McGowan The Physics Prize

Tom Grieg The Engineering and Electronics Prize

Thomas Hall The Award for Aspiring Accountants

Asia Martello The Prize for Languages

Aston Atkinson The 1457 Prize for Psychology

Becky Campbell The Prize for the Student with the Greatest Poetntial for Teaching

Emily Oates The Prize for Childcare

Marcus Jones The STEM Award

Eleanor Trollope The Corin Prize for Biological Science

Jerzy Pilipczuk The Prize for Chemistry

Jessica Paradine The Cirencester Science & Technology Society Prize for Commitment in the Scientific Field

Emma Cook The Joe Watson Understanding of Science and the Environment Award

Amelia Bryant The Prize for Health and Social Care

Sam Davies The Prize for Maths

Liam Hallinan The Most improved Maths Prize

George Boyd GCSE Maths Award

Will Housden The IT and Computing Award

Chris Lehrer The Computing Award for Innovative Programming

Jess Spreadborough The Sociology Award for Outstanding Achievement

Emily Keen The 1457 Prize for Classical Civilisations

Isobel Kamber The 1457 Prize for History

Joseph White The Royal Agricultural University Award for Countryside, Heritage and the Environment

Ellie Parry The Prize for Anthropology and Archaeology

Will Pemberton Bennetts The Prize for Politics

Libby Powell The Prize for Religious Studies and Philosophy

Jenny McGrath The 1457 Prize for Animal Management

James Pulley The 1457 Prize for Horse Management

Benedict Morter The 1457 Prize for Geography

Jon Gollop The 1457 Prize for Environmental Studies

Rosie Driscoll The 1457 Prize for World Development

Alex Johnson The 1457 Prize for Geology

Rosa Hallett The PrintGinger Ltd Prize for Innovation                

Tom Bint The PrintGinger Ltd Prize for Innovation